Our Conservation Commission Members

About the State Conservation Commission

The Washington State Conservation Commission (SCC) is the coordinating state agency for all 45 conservation districts in Washington State. Together, the SCC and conservation districts provide voluntary, incentive-based programs that empower private landowners to implement conservation on their property.

The SCC was created by the legislature in 1939 (RCW 89.08.070) to support conservation districts through financial and technical assistance; administrative and operational oversight; program coordination; and promotion of district activities and services.

Who sits on the SCC Board of Commissioners?

Commission members hail from across Washington State and include people with experience in ranching, farming, law, management, public service, natural resource management, and more.

Three members are elected by the Washington Association of Conservation Districts membership. Four members are appointed to represent state agencies. Two members are appointed by the Governor, and one member represents the Washington Association of Conservation Districts.

Mike Mumford
WACD President
P.O. Box 465
Newport, WA 99156
Email Mike

Dean Longrie (2022)
Western Area Representative
20611 NE 245th Avenue
Battleground, WA 98604
Email Dean

Harold Crose (2020)
Central Area Representative
19562 Road A.3 NE
Soap Lake, WA 98851
Email Harold
Larry Cochran (2021)
Eastern Area Representative
1301 Crumbaker Road
Colfax, WA 99111
Email Larry

Latest News

Calendar of Events

Find your Local District

Skip to content